Fortis, Banco Santander and The Royal Bank of Scotland – takeover of ABN AMRO

October 1, 2007

De Brauw, jointly with Linklaters, acts as lead legal adviser to the Consortium on its EUR 71 billion succesful takeover of ABN AMRO. De Brauw is also principal legal adviser to the Dutch-Belgian bank Fortis and the Spanish bank Banco Santander.

Linklaters advises The Royal Bank of Scotland. De Brauw advised on the public offer, the relationship with Dutch authorities and financial supervisors, corporate, finance, litigation, competition, employment, tax and the agreements within the Consortium. De Brauw’s teams consisted of 16 partners and 19 associates and was lead by our partners Lodewijk Hijmans van den Bergh (advising Banco Santander and Consortium) and Kees Peijster and Bernard Roelvink (both advising Fortis and the Consortium). Other lead partners were Martin van Olffen (Corporate), Martijn Snoep (Competition/Anti-trust), Jan Marten van Dijk (Finance), Evert Jan Henrichs (Employment), Ruud Hermans and Harm-Jan de Kluiver (Litigation) and Paul Sleurink (Tax).


This takeover is the largest in the history of the Netherlands. In addition, this is the first time that a consortium of three parties from different countries has taken over a large financial institution. Other advisers to the Consortium and the individual banks with whom De Brauw has worked in integrated teams are Uría Menéndez (Spain), Slaughter and May (UK), Cravath Swaine & Moore (US), Shearman & Sterling (US) and Willkie Farr & Gallagher (US).


Corporate M&A: Lodewijk Hijmans van den Bergh (lead partner, Banco Santander), Kees Peijster (lead partner, Fortis), Bernard Roelvink (lead partner, Fortis) , Martin van Olffen, Marielle Legein, Michael Schouten, Annabella Vos, Joost Kloosterman, Bartheke Weerstra, Reinier Kleipool, Bernardina Zuideveld, Remco Bosveld.
Finance: Jan Marten van Dijk, Dirk Meerburg, Margreet Poot, Gemma Smits.
Corporate litigation: Ruud Hermans, Harm-Jan de Kluiver, Rivka de Winter, Klaas de Vries, Jeroen van der Schrieck, Robert Lavies.
Tax: Dick Hofland, Paul Sleurink, Rens Bondrager, Okke Suurenbroek.
Competition: Martijn Snoep, Julia Brockhoff, Douwe Groenevelt.
Employment: Evert Jan Henrichs, Martijn van de Mortel.
ICT: Marrein Schraven, Richard van Staden ten Brink.

We keep track of you on our site with cookies, in order to offer the basic functionality of the website and generate user statistics on an anonymous basis to make our website more user-friendly. We do not use or share your data with third parties for advertising purposes.